Presentation

LABEX MME-DII was one of the winners of the second call for projects of the Investissements d’Avenir programme (Investments for the Future – a French national funding programme designed to promote innovation and research).

Within the framework of the LABEX (Centres of Excellence) call for projects, the Ministry of Higher Education and Research granted €4.5M to the MME-DII consortium – “Economic and Mathematical Models of Dynamics, Uncertainty and Interactions.”

Working on a joint interdisciplinary project centred on mathematical, economic and financial modelling, the LABEX MME-DII consortium is composed of over 150 researchers specialized in such areas as economics, mathematics and physics. It thus brings together seven higher education and research institutions of the Île-de-France region: the University of Cergy-Pontoise (THEMA, AGM and LPTM), the University of Paris Nord (CEPN and LAGA), the University of Paris Ouest (Modal’X), ESSEC Business School, the University of Panthéon-Assas (LEM), the University of Evry (EPEE) and the CNRS (France’s national scientific research centre).

MME-DII will constitute an internationally recognized research centre in the modelling of stochastic processes, of decision-making in situations of uncertainty, and of the dynamics of individual interactions. By combining such cross-disciplinary areas of knowledge as mathematics, economics and theoretical physics, MME-DII will help shed light on major societal challenges, ranging from the prevention of financial crises to the management of environmental risks.

LABEX MME-DII will consist of:

  • an open international centre of excellence, reaching beyond the institutional boundaries of the founding research centres;
  • a multidisciplinary integrated training programme in mathematics and economics leading to a B.A., Master’s Degree, PhD or post-doc, with specific courses and eventually a double degree;
  • researchers recruited for their strong potential.

The MME-DII research consortium presents major assets, such as a strong community of very highly-qualified researchers, involved in a common cross-disciplinary project which hinges upon the combination of Social Sciences, as well as Exact Sciences, a complementary consortium both in terms of research and training, a coherent and integrated partnership and an autonomous and adapted governance.

The development of the MME-DII project will be supported by a coherent programme of scientific actions combining:

  • a programme designed to enhance international attractiveness and lead to the development of research Chairs;
  • a teaching programme;
  • a funding programme for research and reduced teaching loads;
  • a programme for the dissemination and valorisation of research.

Scientific Coordinator of the consortium: Ani Guerdjikova– ani.guerdjikova@u-cergy.fr

Présentation

Le labex MME-DII lauréat de la deuxième vague des Investissements d’Avenir

Dans le cadre de l’appel à projets Laboratoires d’excellence (LabEx), le ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche a attribué une dotation de 4,5 millions d’euros au LabEx  »MME-DII : Modèles Mathématiques et Économiques de la Dynamique, de l’Incertitude et des Interactions ».

Le LabEx MME-DII associe dans un projet commun, centré sur la modélisation mathématique, économique et financière, plus de 150 chercheurs en sciences économiques, en mathématiques et en physique. Il réunit ainsi sept établissements franciliens d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche : l’université de Cergy-Pontoise (laboratoires THEMA, AGM et LPTM ), l’université Paris Nord (laboratoire CEPN et LAGA),  l’université Paris Ouest (laboratoire Modal’X), l’ESSEC Business School, l’université Panthéon-Assas (laboratoire LEM), l’université d’Evry (laboratoire EPEE) et le CNRS autour d’un projet interdisciplinaire.

Le laboratoire MME-DII constituera un centre de référence internationale dans la modélisation des processus aléatoires, des décisions en situation d’incertitude et de la dynamique des interactions individuelles. En associant des savoirs aux frontières des connaissances en mathématiques, en sciences économiques et en physique théorique, le laboratoire MME-DII permettra d’éclairer des grands enjeux sociétaux allant de la prévention des crises financières à la gestion des risques environnementaux.

Le labex MME-DII articulera :

  • un centre international d’excellence ouvert, au-delà des limites institutionnelles des centres de recherche fondateurs,
  •  un programme de formation multidisciplinaire intégré en mathématiques et sciences économiques, aux niveaux licence, master, doctorat et post-doctorat, conduisant à la délivrance de doubles diplômes et proposant des cours spécifiques,
  • le recrutement de chercheurs internationaux à fort potentiel.

MME-DII s’appuie sur des atouts majeurs tels qu’une importante communauté de chercheurs de très haut-niveau, intégrés au sein d’un projet collaboratif interdisciplinaire, articulant sciences humaines et sociales et sciences exactes, un consortium complémentaire tant en recherche qu’en formation, un partenariat cohérent et intégré, une gouvernance autonome adaptée.

Le développement du projet MME-DII sera soutenu par un programme d’actions scientifiques cohérent articulant :

  • un programme de renforcement del’attractivité internationale conduisant au développement de chaires de recherche,
  • un programme d’enseignements,
  • un programme de financement de la recherche et de décharges d’enseignement,
  • un programme de dissémination et de valorisation.

Responsable scientifique du projet : Ani Guerdjikova– ani.guerdjikova@u-cergy.fr